Comann Eachdraidh Uig covers the district of West Uig, from Kinlochroag and Morsgail through the Bays (Gisla, Enaclete, Geshader and Carishader), Miavaig and the Valtos Peninsula, the villages round Traigh Uig (Aird, Crowlista, Timsgarry, Ardroil and Carnish) and the Upper End (Mangersta, Islivig, Brenish and the deserted Mealista.) Although sparsely populated, it’s a district with a long, rich history and the Comann Eachdraidh enthusiastically collects genealogy, stories, recordings, photographs and objects.
The society has recently organised the restoration of the Rose, a traditional fishing boat built locally about 1900 by John Macaulay, Saor Bhreanais. It also takes particular interest in shielings, recording their use and traditions.
Previously based at the old school at Lochcroistean, the Comann Eachdraidh occupies a space in the Uig Community Centre at Timsgarry where it runs a small registered museum, which includes information about the prehistoric and Viking settlements in the Hebrides, local crofting and fishing traditions, and the Uig (or Lewis) Chessmen, which were found in the dunes on Traigh Uig. The museum is open from May to September, Monday to Saturday, 12noon to 5pm, and at other times on request. Volunteers are also happy to help with genealogical research and other queries.
The society was a founding member of the Hebridean Connections project, and much of its collected genealogy can be found online there. It also maintains an active website with regular updates about current activities and past glories of Uig.
For out-of-hours museum appointments:
Finlay Maciver 01851 672224
or Sarah Egan 01851 672237